I Live for the Hunt by Ann Christine Tabaka

I Live for the Hunt

I live for the hunt
chasing dreams
racing goals.
Blue haze, orange desires
never knowing the wherefore.
My fingers curl around the sun
pulling down fire from the sky.
Burning, blinding
grail of life.
I seek green
youth of dawn.
Crumpled paper holds my truth
roadway to the stars.
The scent is beyond my reach
it intoxicates me.
I follow paths
brown, gray
forever in pursuit.

(Originally published by The RavensPerch, August 2021)



Ann Christine Tabaka was nominated for the 2017 Pushcart Prize in Poetry; nominated for the 2023 Dwarf Stars award of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Poetry Association; winner of Spillwords Press 2020 Publication of the Year. Her bio is featured in the “Who’s Who of Emerging Writers” 2020 and 2021.

Leave a comment