Resilience, Perseverance, Determination by Paul Tristram

Resilience, Perseverance, Determination

This is my Creed!
The line I draw in the sand
in every direction around me.
Built upon broken soul-bones
and irreversible mistakes…
fire-hardened to all
but my own purpose and vision.
I have done away with ballads,
I look backwards no more,
reminiscing and nostalgia
get in the way of action.
I break my fast
to the sound of battle drums…
snatch energy from negativity,
whilst discarding its true purpose.
I never ‘Arrive’ I keep ‘Seeking’
each tumble or defeat
makes me stronger and wiser,
each victory, I notch up,
then quickly move on through.
There is no room
for ‘Pause’ in ‘Purpose’
Momentum is the only grain
that I do not go against.
I will not fail, complain,
give up nor give in…
and my defiant hands
will remain
forever bloodied and cap-less.



Paul Tristram is a widely published Welsh writer who deals in the Lowlife, Outsider, and Outlaw genres.  He wrote his first poem as a teenager following his release from the (Infamous) Borstal ‘HMP Portland’, and he has been creating Literary Terrorism ever since. 

Leave a comment